Modern ITSM Series – ITIL® v3

Welcome to NaradaCode Modern ITSM Webinar Series.

Our Previous Webinar Series discusses the ITIL® 2. Now we are going to discuss about ITIL®Version 3. 

Over the years, the different versions of ITIL® have released in order to stay aligned with changing business requirements. Termed ITIL® V3 the third version of ITIL® best practices framework was released in 2007. An update to ITIL® V3 was made in 2011, because of which, ITIL®V3 is also called ITIL®2011 V3. This latest version is more suited for today’s business environment because it includes strategic elements so that the IT service management is more aligned to the business requirements.

ITIL® V3 Framework

The core of the ITIL v3 framework revolves around the ITIL® Service Lifecycle and a set of supporting processes and best practices for each stage. The 5 ITIL® Stages are:

  • Service Strategy (SS)
  • Service Design (SD)
  • Service Transition (ST)
  • Service Operation (SO)
  • Continual Service Improvement (CSI)

ITIL® was designed such that the lifecycle stages together form a closed-loop process. This is important because most service management activities aren’t performed when creating services from scratch, they are activities that fix or enhance an existing service. Each stage of the service lifecycle is represented by one of the ITIL® volumes and is self-contained while at the same time integrating into the overall ITIL® framework.

To understand more about ITIL® v3, let’s watch video below